Naresuan University was developed from a College of Education in 1967 and later established as the Phitsanulok Campus of Srinakharinwirot University in 1974. The university was officially granted university status on July 29, 1990, and the name “Naresuan University” was graciously given by His Majesty King Bhumibhol Adulyadej. There are 16 faculties, 3 colleges, 4 schools, 2 institutes and 3 centers detail as follow:

  1. Faculty of Allied Health Sciences
  2. Faculty of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Environment
  3. Faculty of Architecture
  4. Faculty of Business, Economics and Communications
  5. Faculty of Dentistry
  6. Faculty of Education
  7. Faculty of Engineering
  8. Faculty of Humanities
  9. Faculty of Law
  10. Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  11. Faculty of Medical Sciences
  12. Faculty of Medicine
  13. Faculty of Nursing
  14. Faculty of Science
  15. Faculty of Public Health
  16. Faculty of Social Sciences
  17. School of Renewable Energy Technology
  18. School of Logistics and Supply Chain
  19. Graduate School
  20. Naresuan University Secondary Demonstration School
  21. Naresuan University International College
  22. College of Health Systems Management
  23. College of ASEAN Community Studies
  24. Naresuan University Center for Animal Research (NUCAR)
  25. Naresuan University Business Incubation Center
  26. Regional Center of Geo-Informatics and Space Technology
  27. The Institute for Fundamental Study “The Tah Poe Academia Institute”
  28. Naresuan Institute for Community Empowerment (NICE)

With these Faculties categorized into 3 clusters: the Social Sciences Cluster, the Science and Technology Cluster, and the Health Sciences Cluster, the university has been directing towards decentralization of education and equality of study opportunity for people in the lower northern provinces of Thailand, which include Phitsanulok, Pichit, Sukhothai, Kampaengphet, Petchaboon, Uttaradit, Tak, Nakhonsawan, and Uthaithani.

Naresuan University’s mission is to become one of the top 250 universities ranked by QS University Rankings: Asia within 2021. Life science research is one of the university major research areas in which laboratory animal (mainly rodents and rabbits) plays an important role.
So far only 6 faculties (Faculties of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Dentistry, Medicine, Allied Health Sciences, Medical Sciences, Public Health and Science) that use laboratory animals (mainly rodents and rabbits) participate in AAALAC International accreditation. Faculty of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Environment that uses agricultural animals (cattle, pig, and chicken) and fish do not participate in AAALAC International accreditation.

The NUCAR is the unit desired to serve all the university researchers for all studies in rodents and rabbits. There is no satellite animal holding room outside the facility of NUCAR.  In addition to the building construction cost, the university annually supports management budget to the center.  Major regulations involving animal use and care approved by Naresuan University Animal Care and Use Committee (NUACUC) must be subsequently ratified by the University Administrative Committee.

The NUCAR has primary responsibility for the implementation of the Animal Care and Use Program using laboratory animals at Naresuan University. The NUCAR provides:
1. Laboratory animal colony management and husbandry.
2. Veterinary preventive medicine and medical care.
3. Consultation pertaining to animal care and use, as well as veterinary medical issues in protocol development.
4. Support for compliance with animal use protocols carried out in NUCAR facilities.       
5. Training in the care and use of laboratory animals.
6. Reports of requirements to the NUACUC
7. Safety testing service